Jaakko Eino Kalevi performs at Hokuo Music Night


Jaakko Eino Kalevi performs at Hokuo Music Night

Hokuo Music Night brings Nordic electronic and pop music to Tokyo on Thursday 20th November, 2014. The concert presents rising artists Jaakko Eino Kalevi (FI), NONONO (SWE), Oyama (ICE), Nabiha (DK) and Christopher (DK).

Finnish electronic musician Jaakko Eino Kalevi has become something of a cult figure in Helsinki. His debut release for DOMINO’s Weirdworld imprint, EP Dreamzone (December 2013), combines softly psychedelic pop to funk and folk. He is the first ever Nordic artist to sign to the label. Jaakko has released diverse music on local labels for several years and he plays, sings and produces all his own material.

Stockholm-based trio NONONO’s sound is a mixture of pop, rock and soul that could be described as Urban-Indie. The group’s debut single Pumping Blood charted in Europe and US and gathered over 7 million hits on Youtube. Oyama is a young shoegazer-noise-rock band from Reykjavik, Iceland. The five musicians play dreamy melodies that have been influenced by My Bloody Valentine and Sonic Youth. The band was established in 2012 and already the next year they were playing at Iceland Airwaves festival.

Denmark has two representatives at the Hokuo Music Night. Nabiha is a singer-songwriter based in Copenhagen. Her pop single Mind the Gap went straight to No. 1 on the Danish Airplay Chart after its release in 2012 and it has become an international hit. Christopher is a singer-songwriter who made his debut in 2011. His second album Told you so was released in 2014 and it peaked at number 2 on the Danish Albums Chart.

Hokuo Music Night

20th November 2014
Astro Hall, Tokyo (Harajuku)
Open 5:30pm / Start 6:30pm
Tickets: ¥ 5500 (tax incl. / Standing plus 1 drink charge)

More information

Hokuo Music Night on Creativeman
Watch music videos
Astro Hall